Minister states there is no delay in installation of new provinces in DRC

July 16, 2015 OPINION/NEWS




Darell Maurice

Deputy Prime Minister of the Democratic Republic of the Congo Evariste Boshab Mabudj, said that the process of installing new provinces “has not experienced any delay.”

“I can emphatically state that no real delay is expected and that the time will be capitalised to intensify educational work” the Minister stated, in response to sceptics as to the merits of leading the process of decentralisation in the DRC.

He also took this occasion to announce the forthcoming special sessions of the Assemblies of each new dismembered province. In the Eastern Province and the province of “Ecuador, for example, the programming of these special sessions is planned between 21 and 23 July. The provinces that will come from those of Katanga and Kasai Oriental”said the Deputy Prime Minister “will hold their extraordinary sessions between 28 and 30 July, while those to be stripped of the Current Bandundu and Kasai Occidental will program their own between 5 and 7 August.”

Before reporters, Evariste Boshab explained that governors of each new province will be elected between 27 and 30 July,extending to 13 August for others.

He is also convinced that the campaign through some provinces produced the expected results.

“In the course of the remaining operations, one can already see that we proceed at this point with the appointment of officials with the highest grades in the public administration of each new province, appointing those in charge of convening the special session of the provincial Assembly” stated he Deputy Prime Minister.

The dividing of the DRC province of Ecuador, located in the north west of the country, is now complete. This was noted by members of parliament at a special session held last Saturday in Mbandaka, in the presence also of members of the commission from Kinshasa and acting governor of Ecuador, Sébastien Impeto.

On this occasion, the president of the Provincial Assembly of Ecuador, Jean-Gontran Ibambe announced, in accordance with planning law, the immediate birth of five new provinces: “Ecuador, Mongala, Tshuapa, North and South Ubangi.”

For Ibambe, the advantage of this policy is that it facilitates the management and transformation of the province into several development centres. many centers of “impulse and development. “The current government of Ecuador has been dissolved and can not take acts of disposal” Ibambe stressed. He also invited his colleagues to cultivate peace and sense of good governance in their choice of leaders for the new provinces.







Darell Maurice

Darell Maurice is a Journalist based in the Democratic Republic of Congo’s capital city Kinshasa and works for Canal7kintv. He also blogs here.


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.